Switch to desktop Register Login

Forming a Team



All members of a team applying to enter the competition must be enrolled in a Computer Science related degree programme at a South African University. A team must consist of four undergraduates who are in 2nd year if enrolled in a 3 year degree, or 2nd/3rd year if enrolled in a 4 year degree. This is to ensure the winning team is eligible to compete the following year in the HPCAC Student Cluster Challenge. Universities may form combined teams. Universities may enter as many teams as they want. Previous winners and reserves of the competition may not enter.

Each team requires a mentor from their university. The mentor will be responsible for preparing their team for the competition and is responsible for their team during the competition. During the competition the mentor may not provide their team with technical assistance.

To enter, a team must complete the CHPC Student Cluster Competition application form, obtain a letter of support from their mentor and complete the entrance assignment. Successful applicants will be entered into the team selection process to determine which teams will compete at the CHPC Student Cluster Competition.